About GMAT Exam

The Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) is a computer-adaptive test which assesses a person’s analytical, writing, quantitative, verbal and reading skills in standard written English. This test is taken in preparation for being admitted into a graduate management program, such as MBA and Masters in Finance related courses.

The GMAT exam is a adaptive computer test and not a computer-based test, which means that the candidate will get one question at a time and be depending on the accuracy of the previous answer, the difficulty level of the next question will be ascertained. The average scores required for universities abroad varies; top-tier colleges require at least 710, while middle-tier schools accept 600.

For Executive MBA, GMAC has recently introduced a new Mini GMAT called Executive Assessment exam. This exam is specially designed for EMBA applicants and is of considerably shorter duration. It is meant to test analytical and logical thinking of the applicant, which is more suited for the Executive MBA course.


The application fee for GMAT is $250, which would roughly translate to Rs. 15,000-16,000 approximately.

How to Register for GMAT Exam

GMAT is a management entrance exam conducted around the year where the candidates have the flexibility to take the exam on any day depending on the availability and time slot. GMAT is an entrance exam which is conducted over a period of 3 hours 30 minutes. In the year 2012-13, a total of 238,356 GMAT exams were administered, with 675,733 score reports sent to nearly 5,600 graduate-level management programs around the world.

GMAT Eligibility

There are no specific GMAT eligibility criteria. The candidates should have attained the age of 18 years.  The respective institutes may have different eligibility criteria, but GMAC has no specific selection criterion.

GMAT Registration

The candidates have the liberty of giving the exam any time in the year as per their convenience. The critical thing to note is that the candidates can reschedule their next attempt only after 16 days of taking the first try. A candidate is only allowed five attempts in one year.

GMAT Pattern

The GMAT exam pattern consists of mainly four sections which will test the candidate’s’ abilities on various parameters. These are – Writing, Reasoning, Verbal and Quantitative skills. The GMAT exam will be conducted in a time span of 3 hours and 30 minutes. GMAT scores are given with an increment of 10 points for example 550, 560, 570, etc.

Here is the GMAT paper pattern –


No. of questions

Question Type


Analytical Writing Assessment

1 Topic

Analysis of an Argument

30 minutes

Integrated Reasoning

12 questions

Multi-Source Reasoning, Graphics Interpretation, Two-Part Analysis, Table Analysis

30 minutes


37 questions

Data Sufficiency, Problem Solving

75 minutes


41 questions

Reading Comprehension, Critical Reasoning, Sentence Correction

75 minutes

Total Exam Duration

3 hours 30 minutes

Update:  GMAC recently announced the upcoming launch of Select Section Order, a new feature that will provide candidates the flexibility to customize their GMAT experience by choosing the section order in which they feel most comfortable taking the exam.

New GMAT Feature Allows Students To Choose The Order Of Sections

 In a continuing effort to enhance the GMAT exam experience for test takers, the Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) today announced the upcoming launch of Select Section Order, . A new feature that will provide candidates the flexibility to customize their GMAT experience by choosing the section order in which they feel most comfortable taking the exam. Select Section Order will be available to test takers worldwide beginning July 11, 2017.

“The idea of being allowed to choose the section order had been commonly requested by test takers,” said Ashok Sarathy, vice president, Product Management, GMAC. “We conducted a pilot in 2016 to test this feature and received overwhelmingly positive feedback, with 85 percent of participants surveyed expressing that this new feature boosted their confidence before even taking the exam. Our pilot findings also concluded that taking the exam in different section orders continues to maintain the quality and integrity of the GMAT scores.”

The GMAT has four sections. When implemented on July 11, test takers will select their desired section order at the test center on exam date, immediately before the start of the exam. Test takers will be able to choose from three options:
Analytical Writing Assessment, Integrated Reasoning, Quantitative, Verbal (original order);
Verbal, Quantitative, Integrated Reasoning, Analytical Writing Assessment; or
Quantitative, Verbal, Integrated Reasoning, Analytical Writing Assessment.